TABLE OF CONTENTS
- Instant messaging
- Block Messages or Users
- Report Abuse in Messages
See notification imidiately in itselsarning or trough the app.
- Just begin typing either the name of the student or course and itslearning will automatically suggest choices
- Click 'All Messages' to run a 'Search' through your messages.
- You can also use the instant messaging function to send the same message either to each student individually, or to the class as a group.
- Click 'All Messages' to run a 'Search' through your messages. You can also use the instant messaging function to send mass messaging.
- Students can send messages to one another in the course, while teachers and school staff can send messages to courses they are nerolled in (or school/district wide if the administrator have opened up for that).
- You must write a message in the message field before you can send files and attachments
Teachers can get the functionality where they determine whether students are allowed to reply to a massmessage.
It is possible to set up email alerts for messages. This is done from your settings in the personal menu.
You must have an email address registered in itslearning. (Check with your systems administrator if you have the permission to add your email address yourself.)
You can also choose how often you want the notifications to show.
Star your messages
Click the star next to a message to favorite it, so that you can easily find again.
The total number of messages you have 'starred' is visible in the bottom left corner of the full message modal.
Block Messages or Users
This feature is introduced to allow, for instance, a student being bullied to block other users sending abusive messages.
For example, when the student Alejandra blocks her classmate Brian, they can no longer send messages to each other.
This option to block messages is available in 1-1 conversations:
The 1-1 conversation with Brian will now have the following text 'Messages from Brian are blocked' with an 'Unblock' option where the input-field usually is:
For Brian, the conversation looks normal at first glance, but when trying to send a message, the following message 'Alejandra is not available' appears as shown in the image below:
Brian can still send messages in other conversations (groups, courses, projects) where both he and Alejandra participate, it is only the 1-1 conversation that is affected.
Report Abuse in Messages
Since itslearning is used in environments involving young people, there may be situations where abusive or unwanted messages are sent to another student or in a group conversation. The reporting feature appears on individual messages and on group conversations.
The feature is not yet available in the mobile app.
Reporting single messages
Abusive messages can be reported to a teacher. The option is available on individual messages in any conversation type. (Other options in the menu might vary depending on conversation type and sender):
The option is not available on your own messages.
In the image below, when student Alejandra reports a message written by her classmate Brian, she can select a teacher to send the report to.
For Alejandra, she can now see the message as reported, and the menu will give her an option to cancel the report:
For any other participants in the same conversation, the message looks normal.
The report will show up in a 1-1 conversation with the selected teacher as shown in the image below:
For the teacher, Shawn, the message shows up with an option to delete it as shown in this image:
Deletion can be undone from the same place:
When deleted, all participants in the conversation will see that it was deleted by a teacher, but nobody will know who reported it. Unless of course this was in a one to one conversation.
Reporting group conversations
A group conversation created by adding individual users, can also be reported as a whole:
What does the teacher see: Individual messages
As for individual messages, the report is sent as a message to a teacher.
When a conversation is reported, the sender of the report will see the conversation is marked, and also see the report as a conversation with the teacher (or added to that conversation if it already exists).
The report can be cancelled by the one sending the report in the first place.
The teacher will see the report in the conversation with the person who has reported it, and get the option to enter the conversation via a link.
Once in the conversation, the teacher can either delete any individual messages, close the conversation, or delete it completely.
Deleting individual messages will affect everyone in the conversation:
Closing the conversation will also affect everyone in the conversation:
The teacher is not a formal participant in the conversation and cannot be removed:
If the teacher deletes the conversation it disappears completely for all participants, but the teacher can still undelete by going to the original report as shown below: