Course Profiles


When you select the Course Profiles option in the administration tab, you see a large table with available functionalities.

They are explained in the table below.  The green check mark indicates that the functionality is enabled for the profile, while the red x indicates the functionality is disabled for the profile.


Questions to consider:

  • What profiles will you have within your site?  Default profiles include system administrator, administrator, staff, student, guest, and AICC.
  • Looking at the following functionalities, which do you want to apply to each profile?  For example, you might not want teachers to be able to make courses if you are creating template courses to distribute from the district level.

Permissions

Security level
Indicates the security level of the profile.  Advanced profiles have the highest security level.  Note: The security level must be unique.
Manage participants and groups
Indicates whether this profile is allowed to add, edit, and delete participants in a course.
Manage participants and groups when course is synchronized.
Indicates whether this profile is allowed to add, edit, and delete participants in a course when the course is added by means of a synchronization (import).
Manage terms when course is synchronized.
Indicates whether this profile is allowed to add, edit, and delete terms in a course when the course is added by means of a synchronization (import).
Use trash can
Indicates whether the trash can is available for users with this profile.
Manage events in course calendar
Indicates whether this profile is allowed to add, edit, and delete calendar events in the course calendar.
View as other profile
This is a legacy functionality that is no longer available in the platform.
Manage general administration permissions (for example: bulletins, course settings, and access to reports).
Indicates whether this profile has access to general administrator rights.  This implies administration of bulletin board, course settings, access to reports, and so on.
Manage grade book
Indicates whether this profile can manage the settings in the course grade book.
Edit course title
Indicates whether this profile is allowed to edit the course title.
Edit course title in synchronized courses
Indicates whether this profile is allowed to edit the course title when the course is added by means of a synchronization (import).
Edit course credits
Indicates whether this profile is allowed to edit the course credits.
Edit course credits in synchronized courses
Indicates whether this profile is allowed to edit the course credits when the course is added by means of a synchronization (import).
Edit course code
Indicates whether this profile is allowed to edit the course code in a course.
Edit course code in synchronized courses
Indicates whether this profile is allowed to edit the course code in a course when the course is added by means of a synchronization (import).
Delete course
Indicates whether this profile is allowed to delete courses.
Archive course
Indicates whether this profile is allowed to archive courses.
Include profile in student reports (progress report, personal report, etc.)
Indicates whether this profile is to be used when reports are created, whether they are to be shown in the status pages, etc.
Course role
Indicates the role of this profile in a course.
Default profiles
 
Use this course profile for administrators in hierarchy (when synchronizing with hierarchy)
When a hierarchy is synchronized, the users that are administrators in the hierarchy are given this profile.
Use this course profile for teachers in hierarchy (when synchronizing with hierarchy)
When a hierarchy is synchronized, the users that are teachers in the hierarchy are given this profile.
Use this course profile for students in hierarchy (when synchronizing with hierarchy)
When a hierarchy is synchronized, the users that are students in the hierarchy are given this profile.
Use this course profile for guests in hierarchy (when synchronizing with hierarchy)
When a hierarchy is synchronized, the users that are guests in the hierarchy are given this profile.
Use this profile for default membership
New users get this profile by default.
Default permissions in root folder (used when new courses are created)
Full control
Select whether someone with this profile should be granted full control permissions in the course folder when a course is created.  Full control gives the user permission to manage the folder permissions, along with those permissions listed below.
Edit
Select whether someone with this profile should be granted edit permissions in the course folder when a course is created.  Edit gives the user permission to edit the folder.
Write
Select whether someone with this profile should be granted write permissions in the course folder when a course is created.  Write gives the user permission to add elements to the folder, copy elements to and from the folder, and change the element sequence within the folder.
Evaluate
Select whether someone with this profile should be granted evaluate permissions in the course folder when a course is created.  Evaluate permissions are not used by the folder directly.  Elements added to this folder will inherit this permission.
Participate
Select whether someone with this profile should be granted participate permissions in the course folder when a course is created.  Participate permissions are not used by the folder directly.  Elements added to this folder will inherit this permission.
Read
Select whether someone with this profile should be granted read permissions in the course folder when a course is created.  Read gives the user permission to see the folder contents.


Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.